Prof. Shing-Tung Yau

Professor Shing-Tung Yau is the William Casper Graustein Professor of Mathematics at Harvard University. He is the Inaugural Director of the Yau Mathematical Sciences Center of Tsinghua University, Director of Institute of Mathematical Sciences at CUHK and Director of Morningside Centre for Mathematics at Chinese Academy of Sciences. Professor Yau has made fundamental contribution to differential geometry, differential equations and general relativity. He is a member of the United States National Academy of Sciences, a member of Russian Academy of Sciences, a foreign member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, and a member of Academia Sinica; also a founder of Morningside Center of Mathematics, Morningside Medal of Mathematics and the ICCM. He is honored by numerous prestigious prizes and awards, including Fields Medal (1982), Crafoord Prize (1994), United States National Medal of Science (1997), Wolf Prize in Mathematics (2010),and Marcel Grossmann Award(2018).

Advisory Board

  • Shing-Tung Yau (Chairman)
  • Professor of Harvard University; Director of YMSC
  • Ralph Cohen
  • Senior Associate Dean for the Natural Sciences School of Humanities and Sciences; Professor of Stanford University
  • Elias James Corey
  • Member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences; The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1990; Professor of Harvard University
  • Vijay Kuchroo
  • Professor of Harvard Medical School
  • Henry Pinkham
  • Professor of Mathematics, Columbia University
  • Wilfried Schmid
  • Professor of Mathematics, Harvard University
  • Richard Schoen
  • Professor of Mathematics, Stanford University
  • Bik-Kwoon Tye
  • (Emeritus), UC Irvine; Member of NAS, AAAS Professor of Molecular Biology, Cornell University
  • Junying Yuan
  • Professor of Harvard Medical School; Member of AAAS
  • Robert Zimmer
  • President of the University of Chicago; Member of AAAS
  • Xinnian Dong
  • Member of AAS, Professor in the biological department of Duke University
  • Li Jin
  • Vice President of Fudan University; head of the academic committee in the School of Life Science; Member of CAS
  • Jun Li
  • Professor of Mathematics, Stanford University
  • Yunhe Pan
  • Vice Executive President of Chinese Academy of Engineering; Member of CAS
  • Xiaofan Wang
  • Professor of Duke University
  • Yifang Wang
  • Head of The Institute of High Energy Physics of CAS
  • Jie Xiao
  • Associate Director of YMSC, Professor of Tsinghua University
  • Qikun Xue
  • Vice President of Tsinghua University; Member of CAS
  • Andrew Chi-Chih Yao
  • Professor of Tsinghua University, academician of CAS, AAS
  • Henry T. Yang
  • President of UC, Sanata Barbara; Professor in the department of mechanical engineering; Members of the United States National Academy of Engineering
  • Xiping Zhu
  • Vice President of Sun Yat-Sen University; head of school of mathematics and computational science

Organizing Committee

Mainland China


  • Hongwei Xu
  • Zhejiang University
  • Jun Ye
  • Tsinghua University
  • Kang Wu
  • South China Normal University
  • Qingyou Sun
  • Hangzhou Normal University


  • Dong Ruan
  • Tsinghua University
  • Yunfeng Gao
  • Tsinghua University
  • Yan Chen
  • Fudan University


  • Xun Wang
  • Tsinghua University
  • Xinyan Wang
  • Tsinghua University
  • Xingwen Sun
  • Fudan University


  • Qiaoran Xi
  • Tsinghua University
  • Ji Yang
  • Fudan University
  • Liang Cai
  • Fudan University


  • Shimin Hu
  • Tsinghua University
  • Ruofeng Tong
  • Zhejiang University

Economic and Financial Modeling:

  • Chongen Bai
  • Tsinghua University
  • Ping He
  • Tsinghua University
  • Yahong Zhou
  • Shanghai University of Finance and Economics

Overseas- Asian Division:

  • Henry N.C. Wong
  • The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Overseas- U.S.A Division:

  • Bong Lian
  • Brandeis University


  • Ling-Yan Hung
  • Tsinghua University
  • Hao Zheng
  • Tsinghua University

Copyright © S. -T. Yau High School Science Award

Contact Us:

Competition Headquarters Office:Yau Mathematical Sciences Center, Jing Zhai, Tsinghua University, Hai Dian District, Beijing,China 100084


Contact Us:

Competition Headquarters Office:Yau Mathematical Sciences Center, Jing Zhai, Tsinghua University, Hai Dian District, Beijing,China 100084